Nailshop Paris

330px-Nail_Shop_Paris-p1Nailshop Paris  – 2013 (네일샵 파리스)

Country: Korea

Genre: Romance

Cast: Park Gyulee, Jun Ji Hoo, Song Jae Rim, Cheon Dung

Plot: 

Yeo-Joo (Park Gyulee) writes a love story on the internet about a fox with nine tails (“gumiho”). The story becomes a hit and Yeo-Joo becomes somewhat of an internet celebrity. Then, Yeo-Joo is caught in a plagiarism scandal. For her next story, Yeo-Joo decides to write about something completely new. For inspiration, Yeo-Joo decides to observe real people for her story.

Yeo-Joo goes to the subway station. There, she sees a man save a woman from a drug addict. The hero is Alex (Jun Ji-Hoo). Yeo-Joo thinks Alex would make for good material in her next story. She follows Alex to his place of work, which turns out to be a nail shop named “Paris”. Yeo-Joo decides to work at the nail shop, but it appears the shop only hires men. Yeo-Joo then disguises herself as a man with the help of her friend Ji-Soo (Han So-Young). ( Asianwiki)

 

MY OPINION

Hmmm this is a bit different than I thought. I literally watched last episode just a minute ago and I am kind of shocked? empty? Disappointed? 

Story started rather interesting. Apart of typical girl-pretend-to-be-a-boy thing it didn’t seem bad at all. Of course I wouldn’t have to wear glasses to see that even when you cut your her, you still look like a girl if you are a girl. But never mind. Firstly my eye caught Alex and rest of very handsome characters like Jin and Key. It was different to see that one of so hot guys, who saved a girl works actually as a nail artist. Then how the story went I liked how they have been dealing with people problems, trying t help them and growing within themselves at the same time. Then after Key’s confession I got very frustrated with the story. I must say I did not admire relationship between Key and Bunny as there was no chemistry at all, and Key, supposed to be cold serious guy, suddenly changed into crybaby. Then Alex…. I didn’t sense any interest from him towards Bunny, then suddenly in one episodes he loves her?! It’s like they tried to rush drama to finish ruining very good plot. And then gosh, last episode. What was that about?! In one episode they squeezed at least 5. What with that half Gumiho thing? And how come Alex is one too? Gumiho story is like a shadow in whole series and then at the end BUM main thing….. That made no sense what’s so ever. 

Now let’s check characters. Starting from actual actors, I really like them. They were new to me, fresh and quite good at acting. And I didn’t find anyone to annoying neither. Now Alex. Alex is that kind of person you just have to love. He is handsome, nice and helpful. I hated the fact that he ended up like that. Main female lead was pretty simple but gosh she couldn’t make any decisions. Whole drama she like Alex just to end up with guy she feels sorry for. I seriously didn’t see anything that made me think, she maybe falling for Key. Key is that person I don’t like. He was ok at the beginning but as episodes got further I got so angry with him I cannot imagine. He kind of made Bunny to be with him….. And I didn’t like him as main paring neither. My favorite person in drama was Jin. He was weirdly cute, funny and helpful. His relationship kind of grows, changes etc. I just realized I didn’t catch up how his story ends. He reminded me a bit of Jeremy from You are beautiful….

Overall it was nice drama with totally ruined ending. I am highly disappointed even so I was eagerly watching it every week. Sigh…

Leave a comment